Christina Vantzou - No. 3

Christina Vantzou - No. 3

Verdict: 4/5





October 16, 2015

Written By

Dragoș Rusu


January 21, 2016

Kranky recently released the third piece of the American composer and visual artists Christina Vantzou, titled simply ‘No. 3’. Recorded in Belgium (where she’s currently based) with a 15-piece ensemble of strings, horns, woodwinds and micro-choir, this new album explores a deep path of dreamy and meditative soundscapes, with reminiscences of lush layers of classical instruments, synths, vocal samples and somnambulant melodies.

There is a certain tension throughout the album that can be felt on every track; an isolated feeling of something really big or really significant, which is going to happen. During its 16 tracks, the album develops melancholic but cold drones that can only be described as deep. Nevertheless, the album is diverse and very rich in structure. Although the entire music on the previous Nº1 and Nº2 was composed without time structure or steady click, the pillars on Nº3 follow a solid mathematical pattern.

To complete the album, Vantzou made two slow motion videos using a phantom high-speed camera and a 16mm short film shot in Belgium, following a pair of twins and various cloaked figures "performing minimalistic rituals in a strange landscape", to be watched here.

To conclude, it is strongly advisable you not to hesitate on this sincere, sensible and reflective album, which should be consumed at its best specifically in nature or in large surroundings.


01. Valley Drone
02. Laurie Spiegel
03. Pillar 3
04. Robert Earl
05. The Library
06. Entanglement
07. CV
08. Cynthia
09. Stereoscope
10. Pillar 5
11. Moon Drone
12. Shadow Sun
13. Pillar 1
14. The Future

Join the Discussion