Leven Signs - Hemp Is Here

Leven Signs - Hemp Is Here

Verdict: 4/5

Cordelia Records / Unlikely Records





Written By

Dragos Rusu


February 3, 2014

The story of this amazing album is quite simple. A guy called Peter Karkut released in 1985 an album called ''Hemp Is Here'', under the alias Leven Signs. By that time, this project also included a vocalist called Maggie Turner.

The album was released in two different formats: on cassette (on Unlikely Records) and vinyl (on Cordelia Records). Except for a few small differences (like the artwork of the LP and the titles of a few songs), it is the same album, that thankfully, was re-released in 2013 on Digitalis Recordings.

No doubt, for me one of the greatest tracks from this LP is ''Prague Spring'' (also called ''This Motion Will Never Stop'' - I prefer this version of the title). The album flows into rougher sounds; there are few songs that could get me to knock down three horses in a row, as unofficial soundtrack.

When I first heard it I couldn’t believe my ears, it was like kissing my best friend’s grandma, while she transformed into a young hot chick. The credits for this bloody gem go to the Mutant Sounds blog, the place where you could find the most intriguing and dusty obscurities and which, sadly, closed for good.

Karkut recently said somewhere in the corners of a blog that there’s going to be a release with a lot of new remixes of the original songs. Yeah! Tail wagging!


1. Our Position Vanishes
2. Prague Spring
3. Iraj 11
4. La Luna
5. Sedes Sapientiae (vocals - Jayne Worthington)
6. Carry The Torch
7. Morse Message
8. This Inner Space
9. Rumi
10. Das Seal
11. Held In Arms